Unless you have been living under a rock, you would have heard of the Broadway hit musical Hamilton. The genius that is Lin-Manuel Miranda, who wrote the music, lyrics, and book, just released The Hamilton Mixtape; the starting project that later morphed into the sold-out Broadway show that clinched 11 Tony Awards.

If you have not listened to the Original Broadway Cast recording of Hamilton because you feel that people breaking out into song and dance is not a realistic presentation of human behaviour, well then you obviously haven’t been to my house…


The Hamilton Mixtape features certain songs from the musical performed by various artists.  Though I very strongly recommend you take a listen to the entire album here:

These are my favorite tracks from the mixtape you should definitely listen to:

  1. It’s Quiet Uptown – Kelly Clarkson (Track 9)
  2. Congratulations – Dessa (Track 16)
  3. Burn – Andra Day (Track 17)
  4. History Has Its Eyes On You – John Legend (Track 21)
  5. Who Tells Your Story – The Roots, Common, Ingrid Michaelson (Track 22)
  6. Dear Theodora (Reprise) – Chance The Rapper, Francis and the Lights (Track 23)

I think they are perfect tracks to be enjoying this Christmas. However, if you insist on Christmas Carols…

51ups7hgktl-_sy300_ql70_Leslie Odom Jr., who originated the role of Aaron Burr in Hamilton (and won the Tony for it) delivers chill-out renditions of traditional Christmas songs in his first Christmas record; perfect for your dinner parties. This one has been on repeat for a while now.

Another great one released this year is the second Christmas album from She & Him.

she-and-him-christmas-party-640x640If you are a fan of Zooey Deschanel, you might know the band She & Him (consisting of herself and singer-songwriter M. Ward) produce indie-folk music with her haunting vocals that would satisfy any old soul.

Their second Christmas album does not disappoint!

Have a listen to these tracks as you spend time this December with your loved ones.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s